MINUTES of the 2020 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING of the Hermanus Public Protection (HPP) NPC held in the Auditorium, Civic Centre, Overstrand Municipality on Thursday, 5 November 2020 at 18H00

 WELCOME: Mr Errol van Staden, extended a sincere welcome and thanked all present for attending. 14 Members signed the Attendance Register, 19 Proxies recorded. Quorum requirement was 29 members, including Proxies. (Attendance numbers and time in the venue were limited due to COVID-19 pandemic restrictions.)

The status of membership of the HPP NPC was clarified that all property owners within the HSRA boundaries are eligible to be a member, however, they must register to be a voting member of the HPP NPC.

- 2. **APOLOGIES**: Mayor Alderman Dudley Coetzee, Mr Dean O'Neill Municipal Manager, Mrs Santie Reyneke-Naude CFO, Cllr Arnie Africa, Ian Lockett and Marius Boshoff.
- 3. **CONFIRMATION OF AGENDA**: Member submission requested Agenda include the implementation plan and budget for the following year. Item 6 on the Agenda was amended to FINANCE. The circulated agenda was accepted and confirmed.
- 4. **APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF THE 2019 AMG**: The minutes were approved for the 21st AGM held 12 August 2019. Proposed by Mr T Louw and seconded by Mr G Serfontein.
- 5. **CHAIRPERSONS REPORT**: (The report is available on the HPP website <u>www.hpp.org.za</u>)

The Chairperson delivered a succinct report on the previous year's activities of the HPP and some of the challenges faced with establishing the Hermanus Special Rating Area (HSRA) and restructuring the Board.

The Chairperson then discussed the future of the HPP. These include the expansion of the CCTV network, improving stakeholder communication and the appointment of the Executive Officer to ensure governance.

6. **FINANCE**: Mr T Louw, Director Finance and Strategy, presented on matters related to finances. The Audited Financial Statements the Financial Year 2019/2020 have been circulated and dealt with under the Chairpersons report. It was accepted at the meeting. Proposed by T. McCarthy and seconded by J. Cilliers.

The Audited Financial Statements for 2018/2019, however, were approved on 12 August 2019 by the previous board, but only for the period up to 30 June 2019. The current Board will seek advice from the auditor regarding the remaining 2 months and post a full 2018/2019 Audited Financial Statements on the HPP website detailing the recommendation.

The operating budget for the period 1 November 2020 to 31 October 2021 was outlined. Mr T Louw, detailed that most expenditure would be on crime prevention and public safety, cleansing, CCTV maintenance and IT support and the CCTV network expansion. In line with the Financial Agreement entered between Overstrand Municipality and HPP NPC, the HPP must achieve a quantum of reserves equalling two months' revenue by 30 June 2021. This reserve already had been achieved due to the late commencement of the services contracts. The operating budget for the Financial Year 20/21 is R8,300,000 less retention to compensate for bad debt provision. The retention for the

first 3 months was 10%. The draft operating budget for Financial Year 21/22 will be presented at a Special General Meeting for approval before 31 January 2021.

- 7. **APPROVAL OF AUDITORS RENUMERATION**: The payment of R10 825 to Hermanus Accounting Services was approved. Proposed by T. McCarthy and seconded by J. Cilliers.
- 8. **APPOINTMENT OF AUDITORS**: It was unanimously agreed that Hermanus Accounting Services be appointed Auditors for the financial year 2020 / 2021. Proposed by T. McCarthy and seconded by J. Cilliers.

9. ELECTION OF DIRECTORS:

Guy Redford and Kari Brice have resigned from the Board. The Chair thanked them for their service. In line with the MOI 12.1.7 As required by item 5(1)(b) of Schedule 1 of the Act, at least 1/3 (one third) of directors shall resign every year at the AGM but shall be eligible for re-election. Mr T Louw and Mr B van Vuren resigned and indicated their willingness to be re-elected. They were nominated accordingly.

The Board consists of seven (7) Directorships of which three (3) have been co-opted, Mrs A Wright, Ms B Sabbe and Mr A Hartman. They were nominated accordingly. No further nominations were received, all five (5) nominations were elected unopposed. Proposed by Mr L Theron and seconded by Mr R Stanway.

10. ANY OTHER BUSINESS:

Cleansing: Areas in the CBD that are not well maintained / cleaned was raised. The Chair clarified that the HPP's mandate is to offer top-up services to the Overstrand Municipal services.

CCTV: Several questions about CCTV in the area were raised, the Board adequately responded. Ms K Brice provided further clarification regarding the Overstrand Municipalities investment and intentions for CCTV in the Overstrand area.

Members: Ms M Bown stated that an additional 43 property owners were admitted as members of the HPP NPC up to 31 October 2020. In accordance with the MOI 9.10 the HPP will publish a list of its members on the HPP website on an annual basis.

- 11. Member Submission: Mr Andre du Toit made a submission to the HPP Board raising several issues (submission attached). The Chair summarised the issues raised and committed to dealing with the issues separately but would not address issues that had been dealt with previously by the Overstrand Municipality or the HSRA Steering Committee.
- 12. The Chairperson offered an unreserved apology (both verbally and in writing) to the previous HPP Board, Coenie Bierman, Roger Smith, Callie Westraat and Mike Clark for the inaccurate term used to refer to the Boards resignation from the HPP. All documentation using the inaccurate term has been removed and amended accordingly.
- 13. The Chairperson extended a vote of thanks to property owners, the HSRA Steering Committee, community warriors, HRA, Fernkloof Estate and Westcliff Residents Association, Overstrand Municipality and the HPP Board members.
- 14. There being no further business to discuss, the AGM was called to a close at 19H10.